Wednesday, March 18, 2009

DMV to allow you to keep old ID when applying for new card

Beginning April 1, 2009, DMV will allow people to keep their old driver licenses, permits, and ID cards when they apply for new cards. Previously, DMV retained the old card when issuing an interim paper stock ID.

Customers' old cards will instead be invalidated with a punched hole in the name and address area, and then returned to customers. This will give people another form of photo identification while they wait for their new ID card to arrive in the mail.

Oregon converted to issuing driver licenses and ID cards from a secure central production facility in the summer of 2007. DMV now mails driver licenses and ID cards directly to customers, and most people receive their secure cards through the US mail within a few days. However, some have reported problems proving their age or identity at other agencies and businesses, including OLCC-licensed businesses, with only the interim card. The inconsistent acceptance of the interim card has created problems for some individuals who don't have any other form of photo ID.

DMV will be instructing customers to destroy both cards (invalidated old ID and paper interim card) once they receive their new plastic card in the mail. This will help protect personal information.

While this change will provide people with an additional piece of identification to help prove their age and identity in conjunction with a valid interim car, the invalidated ID will not meet the statutory requirements for a stand-alone ID for the purposes of purchasing or consuming alcoholic beverages, as well as entering and remaining in an area prohibited to minors.

Some businesses and their staff may refer to the punched IDs only as a back-up ID - additional proof of the patron's age and identity - provided that a legitimate ID has already been presented.

Businesses are required to check the identification of anyone who wishes to purchase or consume alcohol, or who wants to enter a prohibited to minors area, if that person appears under the age of 26. Under Oregon law, the only acceptable forms of stand-alone ID are:

  1. A valid state driver license with a photo.
  2. A valid DMV ID card with photo, name, date of birth, and physical description from any state.
  3. A valid passport.
  4. A valid United States military ID card.
For questions about the new DMV policy, please visit or call your local DMV office.

If you have questions about what forms of identification are acceptable for OLCC-related purposes, please visit or call your local OLCC office.

Tuesday, March 10, 2009

Temporary price increase on distilled spirits to offset compensation cuts to liquor agents

At a special March 9 meeting, the OLCC Commissioners adopted a temporary price increase on distilled spirits. From April 1 through June 30, 2009, there will be a 50-cent surcharge per bottle on all distilled spirits products.

The Senate and the House passed a bill to re-balance the current biennium’s budget. Part of that impact would reduce agents’ compensation by $3.8 million.

Initially, the OLCC negotiated a $1.5 million inventory reduction as well as providing additional agency funds to offset the impact to agents. With the negotiations, the impact on liquor agents was reduced to between $500,000 to $1.9 million

Depending on sales, the surcharge is expected to generate at least $1.5 million to further reduce the impact on liquor agents. The agency hopes that this additional revenue will have the minimum impact possible under legislative guidelines of $500,000 on the liquor agents.

“The commission is looking at this temporary increase as a means to assist in filling the state’s budget hole for the 2007-2009 biennium,” said Steve Pharo, OLCC Executive Director. “Through additional funds from the agency, proposed inventory reduction and the proposed price increase, we’ve successfully reduced the impact to liquor agents from the original proposal of $3.8 million. We look to work closely with agents as we resolve this issue.”

The OLCC provided additional funds from the agency’s operating budget, in addition to the cuts required by legislature. Also, the agency and the liquor agents will work together to accomplish a $1.5 million reduction in inventory.

Liquor agents are independent contractors who manage and operate the liquor stores. The stores are required to be open a minimum of eight hours a day Monday through Saturday with six of those hours between noon and 6 p.m. Liquor agents have the discretion to be open Sundays and legal holidays. Hours of operation, vary from store to store.

Friday, March 6, 2009

OLCC's minor decoy program is looking for volunteers

The OLCC is recruiting individuals 17-20 years old, and look their age, who would be willing to volunteer their time to conduct minor decoy operations.

The OLCC conducts compliance checks of licensed premises using persons under the age of 21 to attempt to buy alcoholic beverages. These checks are an effective and efficient way to reduce the availability of alcohol to minors.

Participants will gain knowledge of law enforcement operations and the criminal justice system. They will also learn how a regulatory agency such as the OLCC works, and may find this experience useful in pursuing a future career and personal goals.

In order to qualify for this program, minor decoy applicants must at least:
  • Be 17-20 years of age
  • Appear under 26 years of age (closer to their true age)
  • Not have been cited for a liquor law violation (Minor In Possession, misrepresentation of age - showing false or fake ID, etc)
  • Not have a criminal record
  • Possess a valid state-issued driver license or ID card
The OLCC will provide reference letters and/or documentation confirming volunteer hours. These volunteer hours have been used for high school and/or college credits. Operations may be conducted during the day or evening hours depending on the work and personal schedules of participants.

If you are interested in participating in this program, call 503-872-5208.